Bank Holiday on June 1: Are Banks Closed Today? Only in Some States… Check Details Here

3 Min Read
Bank Holiday on June 1: Are Banks Closed Today? Only in Some States… Check Details Here

Bank Holiday Today on June 1: Check State-wise Details

June 1 marks a significant day as banks will be closed in certain states due to the final phase of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The states affected include Bihar, Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal. While June 1 is a Saturday, it is the first Saturday of the month and hence not a universal bank holiday across India. However, these states will observe a bank holiday to facilitate voting in the 18th general elections.

Why Are Banks Closed Today?

This is the seventh and final phase of the 2024 general elections in India, with 57 constituencies across eight states and union territories casting their votes. Additionally, Odisha is holding simultaneous assembly elections in all its 42 constituencies today. As a result, banks in these regions will remain closed to accommodate the election process. In other states, banks will operate as usual with no disruption in services. In all states, online and app banking will continue to function seamlessly, ensuring that customers can still conduct their banking activities digitally.

Bank Holidays in June 2024

June 2024 is packed with at least 12 scheduled bank holidays due to various religious holidays, regional celebrations, second Saturdays, fourth Saturdays, and Sunday weekend leaves. This month is unique as it includes five Sundays off. These holidays apply to all national and private banks across India, including the State Bank of India (SBI). The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) decides these holidays in consultation with the respective state governments, so schedules may differ based on local customs.

Here is a detailed list of bank holidays in June 2024:

  • June 9: Maharana Pratap Jayanti in Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, and Rajasthan.
  • June 10: Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji in Punjab.
  • June 14: Pahili Raja in Odisha.
  • June 15: YMA Day in Mizoram and Raja Sankranti in Odisha.
  • June 17: Bakri Eid (except in some states).
  • June 21: Vat Savitri Vrat in many states.

Weekend Bank Holidays in June 2024:

  • Second Saturday: June 8
  • Fourth Saturday: June 22
  • Sundays: June 2, 9, 16, 23, and 30

Also Read : CUET UG Admit Card 2024: NTA to Release Hall Ticket – Check Latest Updates Here

Customers are advised to check and confirm all listed holidays with their nearest bank branch to plan better and avoid last-minute confusion and emergencies.

Share This Article
Pankaj is the author of Bugs Solutions. Whatever information is given to you, check it to see if it is correct. If you have any problem, you can contact us and mail us.
1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *